Regression and nostalgia

While cleaning out my closet, I found my old Game Boy Color.  As a result, I lost an entire evening rediscovering Pokemon Yellow.  I remember getting frustrated during a Legend of Zelda marathon session and packing everything away in the game case.  It was so long ago I forgot I even had a Game boy.

I love those old games.  When I think about my favorites, they are all old games with fairly simple graphics… but man were they fun to play.  I remember the first time I played Thief, what a freaking awesome game.  The third one was okay, definitely had it’s good points, but it was too into “sparkly pixels”.  I would have liked more game play and better levels for sneaking around.  The first 2 thief games are among my favorite games, and the FF series up to 7… I lost interest after 7.  I like new games too and awesome graphics, but they don’t have the charm of the old ones, at least to me.

I’m not doing a whole lot today, mostly waiting for my doll to arrive… I told you I was regressing.  I did watch another chapter of that training video, so I haven’t been a complete spud, just a partial one.  Mom’s cleaning people are here today and it’s  hard to do anything with them running around.  Oh darn, looks like I’ll have to play more pokemon while I wait for them to leave.


8 thoughts on “Regression and nostalgia

  1. I’d play a game with stick man graphics if the content was fun, in fact I have. Kingdom of loathing is a good example, it’s web based and gets very complex if you want it to. Lately I’m all about Skyrim, but I see Sims3 has two expansions coming in Sept and Nov this year..might have to get Santa to stuff those into my stocking :)

    1. I forgot about Kingdom of Loathing! I never played it but it was always “on the list”. I went ahead and bookmarked it, stick figures rock. One of my… err, I mean Liz’s splurges was Hidden Springs. It’s actually a very pretty world and you don’t have to travel halfway across town to find a fishing spot. I’m big into fishing minigames, sometimes I like them better than the main quest. I don’t know if I’m too keen on Seasons for the Sims 3. I got majorly sick of it for Sims 2, but if you wanted to farm you had to have it. In 2, my Sim kids were either getting overheated or frozen, I was always having to cool them off or warm ’em up.

      1. Ohh fishing *swoom* I had my first character do a bunch of traveling and fished 10 of each foreign country type, then came home, bought community land and made a park with 3 ponds. Each pond is stocked with the 3 types per country. So now the entire town has them available years after her passing :D Yeah I’m not OCD at all.

      2. That sounds pretty cool actually. My sims are very selfish, they keep their fish on their home lot. It would be neat to do a park with a themed section for each of the foreign locations. I’m surprised they haven’t done a South American themed travel location, the costumes would be fun.

  2. My husband plays on his Color (red) all the time lol – he rotates between his DS and that one. Current game is Final Fantasy Tactics Advance (over 1,000 hrs clocked in – can you tell he loves that game?) Glad to hear Mom’s about out.

    1. Mine’s purple, and I think I tossed the battery cover. It had become separated from the rest of the kit and I think I finally pitched it when I started my cleaning spree. Of course, THEN I find the Game Boy. I still have everything else though.

    1. It’s supposed to arrive today! I can’t decide if the doll will be male or female… I have a feeling it will be a cross dresser depending on my mood. Fairies are pretty androgynous anyhow.

Leave a Reply

