Ego? Nah, just something to do.

Lately I’ve been seeing blog hate here, there, everywhere, on the news and even in my Inbox of all places.  In the email, they were trying to sell me a t-shirt, along with a few other trinkets.  “So you insult me and then ask for my money?  No thanks.”  <delete>  Come to think of it, that about covers how I feel about political ads too, but that’s another subject.

A recurring theme from these blog haters is “bloggers have huge egos”.  Really?  I can’t think of anyone I know who blogs because their ego is so huge it demands attention.

Most people I know blog, because

  • It’s something to do.
  • They meet people from around the world.
  • They make new friends.
  • It’s fun.
  • They’re selling something.

People blog for all sorts of reasons, I blog because it’s something to do and gives me a place and reason to post photos and artwork.  I used to belong to several forums for similar reasons, but after a while I found that I wanted a page of my own where I could talk about whatever I want, without worrying about being off topic.  I’m also very shy and blogging gives me a way of working through that without having to contend with louder personalities.

So all of the blog hate lately made me wonder if I should just hang it up, but then I asked myself why should I give up something I enjoy?  Recently, I came across a quote, “Better to be hated for what you are, than to be loved for what you are not.”  There’s truth in that.  It’s one of the reasons why I take time to blog about tarot or dreams, knowing that there are people out there who are severely biased against psychics and diviners.  I’ve known the pain of having friends or lovers turn on me after learning that I read cards and dreams.  Much better to have the strength and integrity to be who I am, than to try to hide and conform out of fear of rejection.

And that’s how I ended up with a blog post, all the while thinking I had nothing to say.

2 thoughts on “Ego? Nah, just something to do.

  1. I blog because I’m a huge attention junkie. Wait no, it started because I wanted to help people who were building similar dollhouses by providing lots of pics and tips. The friend making was just a happy side effect.

    Blogs, unlike forums, provide a space where those reading (should) want to see what you have to say. If not, click elsewhere.

  2. I agree with April! I started my blog so I would have a “space” to document my first dollhouse build. Now it covers pretty much everything – but I enjoy having a public space where I can talk about whatever I would like without anyone rolling their eyes or drifting off to sleep…lol.
    Friends made are a bonus. I’m not worried about that so much, I just need to be able to get my thought processes down sometimes to make it easier for me to work — and sleep. :D Also, somehow I can always see more detail of my work when the pictures are on the blog than I can when I look at it in real life or even on my own picture viewer!!

    It’s also a good way to share with my family all the things I like to create!

Leave a Reply

