I did something useful, and why I don’t smile in photos

I started viewing those training videos I signed up for earlier.  I picked something easy to start out and began learning about Twitter.  While I know what it is, it has always seemed overwhelming from the outside.  The course is 4 hours, but I can break it up into manageable chunks.  Funny, I can sit for 6 hours straight processing photographs, but passively watching a video for more than 15 minutes at a time is torture… which is why I am writing a post rather than watching the video.  Hopefully I will build up my endurance before I get to the 8 to 12 hour design classes.  I have 5 1/2 minutes left to go on chapter 2, after that I’m having lunch.

I’m holding off on the design videos until I get check out the syllabus for the classes I’m signed up for.  After the Twitter tutorial, I’ll check out the Google+ and gmail lessons since I’m not entirely clear on what I’m doing with the Circles.  I joined one group and occasionally get emails from them, but I don’t know what to do with them.  So I probably should figure that out, and come up with a decent profile picture.  I’ve been told that using the Liz’s picture is unprofessional… but heck, she is way more photogenic.

I finished the checkered border on the afghan.  I’ve decided to finish off with rounds of SC, except for the orange and Wash, I’ll use DC for those.

Not grumpy, just focused.

Oh, and before I forget, a note for myself.  When DJ Crack Baby says it’s a nice day to be out and about… he means “… if you are driving a tricked out SUV with the A/C on high and you are only going two blocks from your house.”  I started having symptoms of heatstroke (technically heat exhaustion which then leads to the other),  feeling nauseous and I couldn’t breathe; I made it home because I stopped at a nearby Valero and bought water.  It hit me fast.  I was fine, no problems, but then suddenly I was dizzy and wanted to vomit.  I’m so glad I did not try to make the farmer’s market.  I can get there by bus, but I have to walk home… there’s no way I would have made it.  This pic was taken before I went out, when I got back… my face was redder than the pink in my shirt.  Don’t expect to see me outside after 10 am until autumn.

And a reminder for everyone (courtesy of webmd):

Symptoms of Heat Stroke

The hallmark symptom of heat stroke is a core body temperature above 105 degrees Fahrenheit. But fainting may be the first sign.

Other symptoms may include:

  • Throbbing headache
  • Dizziness and light-headedness
  • Lack of sweating despite the heat
  • Red, hot, and dry skin
  • Muscle weakness or cramps
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Rapid heartbeat, which may be either strong or weak
  • Rapid, shallow breathing
  • Behavioral changes such as confusion, disorientation, or staggering
  • Seizures
  • Unconsciousness

I had everything on that list except for the headache, seizures, and unconsciousness.  I did not stop to take my core body temperature… how lax of me.  Beware the heat.

I really need a hair cut.  I’m seeing how long I can hold out, but my resolve is wavering.  And the reason I don’t smile in pictures… while I can walk and chew gum, I cannot smile and take my own picture.  It’s one of life’s impossibilities.

4 thoughts on “I did something useful, and why I don’t smile in photos

    • I didn’t have a good day, headache, fever, and very dehydrated. I slept most of the day and I feel better now that the fever finally broke. It seems I have become more susceptible to high temperatures than I used to be, I wasn’t dehydrated when I went out so I’m thinking my “thermostat” is broken. I’m always drinking water, there’s no reason for me to get dehydrated like that.
      It’s the second time it’s happened to me since I moved here, the first time I started to black out but managed to get into the shade before collapsing. I really should move someplace cooler I think.

Leave a Reply

